Office of Broadband and Connectivity

JOHN BEL EDWARDS Governor

State of Louisiana

Division of Administration

JAY DARDENNE
Commissioner of
Administration



Broadband for Everyone in Louisiana Commission Meeting

10:00am – 11:00am, October 20, 2022 Claiborne Building 1201 N 3rd St, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

MEEETING MINUTES		
AGENDA ITEM	DISCUSSION	
WELCOME	Manigue Boulet, CEO, of the Acadiana Blanning Commission and DEL Commission	
WELCOME REMARKS	Monique Boulet, CEO of the Acadiana Planning Commission and BEL Commission Chairwoman, welcomed attendees and gave a brief introduction to the meeting.	
UPDATES FROM CONNECT LA	Veneeth Iyengar, executive director for the state of Louisiana's broadband efforts (also known as ConnectLa), provided the following updates:	
	Approximately \$170 million out of the available \$176 million of the GUMBO program funds have been committed.	
PRESENTATION:	Dr. Stephen Barnes and Dr. Anna Osland of the Kathleen Babineaux Blanco Public Policy	
KATHLEEN	Center facilitated a presentation on the Louisiana Statewide Digital Equity Plan and the	
BABINEAUX BLANCO PUBLIC	outreach efforts of the LAPDD Broadband Outreach Committee.	
POLICY CENTER		
OPEN DISCUSSION	General discussion about statewide broadband activities was held between meeting	
	attendees.	
ATTENDANCE RECORD		
ATTENDEES	Committee Members in Attendance	
	1. Janet Britton, LA Telecommunications Association (LTA)	
	2. Patrick Witty, Designee of the Secretary of Louisiana Economic Development	
	3. Matthew Wood, Designee of Labor Nominated by the AFL-CIO	
	4. Daryl Deshotel, Designee of the Chairman of Louisiana Legislative Rural Caucus	
	5. Roderick Scott, Designee to the Delta Regional Authority	
	6. Monique Boulet, APC, BEL Commission Chairwoman	
	7. Kim Hunter Reed, Designee of the Commissioner of Higher Education8. Chad Winchester, Designee of LA Dept. Transportation & Development	
	9. Lauren Chauvin (Proxy for Kristine Lagasse, Internet & Television Association	
	(LCTA))	
	10. Richard Howze, Designee of Commissioner of Administration	
	Others Present	
	1. David Lehmen, ConnectLa	
	2. Thomas Tyler, ConnectLa	
	3. Alex Johnson, NTIA – Federal Program Officer	

4.	Veneeth Iyengar, ConnectLa
5.	Susannah Craig, Louisiana Board of Regents
6.	Rebecca Kelly, Louisiana Board of Regents
7.	Rhett Covington – LA Department of Corrections
8.	Dr. Anna Osland, Kathleen Babineaux Blanco Public Policy Center
9.	Dr. Stephen Barnes, Kathleen Babineaux Blanco Public Policy Center
10.	Kade Jones, APC